Harbor Committee


Westport Island’s Waterways and Harbors Ordinance provides for the orderly operation of marine activities on the island’s waterways.  Its purpose is to promote public safety, enjoyment and convenience on the waterways; and to provide for the effective use and control of mooring areas and any adjacent public facilities. (See the Westport Island Waterways and Harbors Ordinance for complete information governing Westport Island’s waterways).

What we Do

The Harbor Committee oversees how the Waterways and Harbors Ordinance is administered, ensuring that it is a just and lawful tool for promoting safe use of our waterways. The Select Board appoints five members who serve staggered terms of three years and two alternates who serve one-year terms.  None of the members may be the Harbor Master or Deputy Harbor Master.  All members are residents of Westport Island.  The Committee’s role is to:

  • Advise the Select Board on harbor and maritime related issues

All Harbor Committee meetings are posted and open to the public.

Contact Us

For questions or more information, contact the Select Board, (207) 882-8477 ext. 4 or email them at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).


Name Position Term Expires
Dana Faulkingham Chair 2025  
Ronald Stoodley Secretary 2024  
Carl Skidmore Member 2025  
James Meixell Member 2025  
Michael Cromwell Member 2025