

## TOWN OF WESTPORT ISLAND 6 Fowles Point Road Westport Island, ME 04578

#### Office of the Selectmen, Assessors and Overseers of the Poor

## Town of Westport Island Board of Selectmen, Assessors and Overseers Meeting July 1, 2019

**Present:** 

**Selectmen:** George D. Richardson, Jr., Jerry Bodmer and Ross Norton.

Citizens: None

Guests: Charlotte Boynton (Lincoln County Newspaper) & Robert Fairfield

**Meeting Convened:** George called the meeting to order at 7:02 pm.

#### **Business Conducted:**

**1. Warrant:** George motioned to approve Warrant No.107 for a total of \$1,718.11 (Accounts Payable No.107 - \$1,718.11); Jerry, 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0.

- **2. Warrant:** George motioned to approve Warrant Nos.1 & 2 for a total of \$35,776.54 (Payroll No. 1 \$1,183.44; Accounts Payable No. 2 \$34,593.10); Jerry, 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0.
- 3. Minutes: George motioned to accept the minutes of June 24, 2019 minutes; Ross, 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0.
- **4. Wiscasset Transfer Station Contract:** George made a motion to sign the 2019-2020 Wiscasset Transfer Station contract for \$88,571.08; Jerry, 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0.
- **5. Paving Project Finance:** George motioned to borrow \$411,155.00 from the First National Bank and use \$28,706.78 from the LRAP (Local Road Assistance Program), as well as use \$28,138.15 from motor vehicle tax; Jerry, 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0.
- **6. 2019-2020 Committee & Town Appointments**: The Board of Selectmen signed 55 appointments. See the attached list.
- **6. Meeting Adjourned:** George motioned to adjourn the meeting at 8:07 pm; Ross, 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0.

Respectfully submitted,

George D. Richardson, Jr. Gerald

1<sup>st</sup> Selectman 2<sup>nd</sup> S

Gerald Bodmer 2<sup>nd</sup> Selectman

Ross Norton 3<sup>rd</sup> Selectman

#### 2019 Elected Officials

# 1<sup>st</sup> Selectman (3 Year Term)

George D. Richardson, Jr.

# Road Commissioner (3 Year Term)

Garry Cromwell

# 2019-2020 Committees & Appointments

#### **Ad-hoc Road Committee**

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Jerry 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

E. Davies Allen Andrew Bradford Garry Cromwell James Cromwell Roger Higgins

## Ad-hoc Wright House Committee

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Jerry 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Alton Andrews
Maurice Ayotte
Richard DeVries
John Henry Geschwinder
Craig Hudson
Robert Morris
Kenneth Parsons

# Chair of the Board of Selectmen & Assessors

(1 Year Appointment – Jerry motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 2-0)

George D. Richardson, Jr.

# Cable Contract Negotiating Committee

(No Term)

#### Al Doman

Code Enforcement Officer

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Jerry 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Gary Richardson

Deputy Code Enforcement Officer

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Jerry 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Ron Stoodley

Constable/Animal Control Officer

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Jerry 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Amos "Buddy" Greenleaf

Deputy Constable/Deputy Animal Control Officer

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Jerry 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Gary Webber

E-911 Addressing Officer

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Richard Gray

Emergency Management & Civil Defense Director

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Roger Higgins

Emergency Management & Civil Defense Deputy Director

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Gaye Wagner

Municipal Agent & Excise Tax Collector

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Dedee Greenleaf-Hodgdon

## Deputy Municipal Agent & Excise Tax Collector

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Julie Casson Martha Hayward Gaye Wagner

## General Assistance Administrator

(1 Year Appointment – Jerry motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 2-0)

George D. Richardson, Jr.

#### Harbor Master & Port Warden

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 2-0 with 1 abstention)

Ted Christie

## Deputy Harbor Master & Port Warden

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Daniel Bradford

#### Harbor Committee

(3 Year Appointments – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0) Michael Cromwell Dana Faulkingham James Swist

## History Committee - Members

(3 Year Appointmenst – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Mary Ellen Barnes Dennis Dunbar Dedee Greenleaf-Hodgdon

#### History Committee - Associates

(1 Year Appointments – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Sandra Besecker Joan Mason Bradford\* Carolyn Connor Mary Coventry\* Judith Hughes\* Ruth Laurayne Presby\* George D. Richardson Debbie Williams\*

\*waiting on agreement from associate to rejoin committee/have been previously appointed/ approved by selectmen.

Lincoln County Regional Planning – Selectmen's Rep (1 Year Appointments – Jerry motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 2-0)

George D. Richardson, Jr.

Lincoln County Regional Planning – Selectmen's Alternate (1 Year Appointments – George motioned; Jerry 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 2-0)

Ross Norton

Lincoln County Regional Planning – Public Representative (1 Year Appointments – George motioned; Jerry 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

April Thibodeau

Lincoln County Registry of Deeds – Town Administrator (1 Year Appointments – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 2-0)

Gerald Bodmer

Midcoast Municipal Association – Selectmen's Representative (1 Year Appointments – Jerry motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 2-0)

George D. Richardson, Jr.

Planning Board - Member (3 Year Appointment – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Archie Bonyun

Deputy Plumbing Inspector (1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Neil Cavanaugh

## **Public Access Officer**

(1 Year Appointment – Jerry motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Julie Casson

## Shellfish Committee - Member

(3 Year Appointment – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Adam Webber

#### Shellfish Committee - Alternate

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

John Wallace

#### Town Clerk

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Julie Casson

#### Deputy Town Clerk

(1 Year Appointments – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Dedee Greenleaf-Hodgdon Martha Hayward Gaye Wagner

#### Treasurer & Tax Collector

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Martha Hayward

#### Deputy Treasurer & Tax Collector

(1 Year Appointments – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Julie Casson

Dedee Greenleaf-Hodgdon

Gaye Wagner

Tree Warden

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Kyle DePietro

WVFD – Fire Chief

(1 Year Appointment – George motioned; Ross 2<sup>nd</sup>; vote: 3-0)

Stacey Hutchison